Launch of the Permanent Scientific and Technical Committee of CODATU

Launch of the Permanent Scientific and Technical Committee of CODATU
Lorenza Tomasoni
Déléguée Générale Adjointe
CODATU News Wednesday 9 July 2014

order to
strengthen its scientific and technical activities beyond Conferences CODATU, the General Council of CODATU wished to revive activities of the Scientific and Technical Committee Permanent (CSTP) for the period 2013-2016. This committee has a supporting role in the identification of the main issues of urban mobility in developing countries and particularly those that feed the debate between research and operational. The CSTP must, through its activities, promote the transfer of results and identification of needs.

Results of the activity of the PSTC will be enhanced through publications and organisation of workshop, seminars and conferences to favour exchange and consolidations of outcomes.

A high level scientific committee

PSTC is at present composed of 23 members rapresentatives of the academic world, researchers and consultants of international level.The identification of members was coordinated by the co-presidents of the committee according to pre-established criteria to ensure a good level of diversity in terms of business environment, geographical origin and gender.

Members of the Permanent Scientific and Technical Committee are:

  1. Ali Huzayydin, University of Cairo, Egypt (co-président)
  2. Anthony D. May, University of Leeds, UK (co-président)
  3. Ela Babalik-Sutcliffe, Middle East University Ankara, Turkey
  4. Helena Cybis, Federal University Rio Grande du Sul, Brasil
  5. Lourdes Diaz Olvera, ENTPE-LET, France
  6. Vadim Donchenko, NIIAT, Russia
  7. Assogba Guezere, Togo
  8. Thierry Gouin, CEREMA, France
  9. Chinh Ho, Vietnam
  10. Rao Krishna, Institute of Technology in Bombay, India
  11. Fernando Lozada, Mexico
  12. Nico McLachlan, Indipendent Consultant, South Africa
  13. Dominique Mignot, IFSTTAR, France
  14. Kazu Miyamoto, Tokyo City University, Japan
  15. Slobodan Mitric, Indipendent Consultant, Serbia
  16. Rafaa Mhraihi, High Institute for Transport and Logistics, Tunisia
  17. Marcela Munizaga, University of Chili, Santiago de Chili
  18. Valerie Ongalo Zogo, University of Yaoundé, Cameroon
  19. Monica Oreviceanu, Architect and Urban Planner, Ministry of Regional Development and Public Administration, Bucharest, Romania
  20. Charles Rivasplata, Mineta Transportation Instritute (MTI) and San Jose State University, US
  21. Pablo Salazar-Ferro, Indipendent Consultant, Columbia
  22. Rami Semaan, TMS consult, Lebanon
  23. Varamath Vichiensan, Kasetsart University, Thailand

Ralph Gakeinheimer, professor emeritus at Massachussets Institute of Technology (US) and formerly president of the scientific committee of CODATU, accepted to be Advisor to co-presidents of the PSTC.

Work in progress…

The first mission that was given to the committee members is to suggest and comment main critical issues on which to build the program of activities of the Committee for the next two years. The mandate of PSTC members will stop at the same time as the mandate of General Council members that means in more or less 3 years.

The results of this collective survey will be presented in the coming months.



If you wish to share you ideas on these issues, please contact: Lorenza TOMASONI, Chargée de missions scientifiques de CODATU.